• Leather as it should be

terracare® is the leading ingredient brand for responsibly manufactured leather. This means: We do everything in our power to produce a first-class and durable product, that respects both people and the environment to the highest levels possible. We stand by this social and ecological responsibility.

Craftsmanship from Germany

terracare® leather has grown out of four generations of craftsmanship from a German family business. Almost 130 years of tradition and experience result in products , processes and measures of the highest reliability and quality. This performance is characterized by a close cooperation in the true spirit of partnership: among our employees, customers and suppliers.

Fascinated by leather

We are fascinated by leather: both by its original and individual character as well as its manifold possibilities for further processing. This enthusiasm for a long-lasting natural product drives us and we want to share and ignite this fascination. That's why we are always breaking new ground when it comes to producing high-quality leather in an even more responsible manner.

Leather with personality

We live leather: we are fully convinced of its unique qualities. Would you like to find out more details about terracare® leather? Then please feel free to contact us. We look forward to hearing from you.

Thomas Heinen
CEO

Frequently asked questions

  • What does tanning with chrome mean?

    There are three different processes used in leather tanning worldwide:

    a) Chrome tanning
    (b) Synthetic tanning
    (c) Vegetable tanning

    The most widespread method with approx. 85-90% is chrome tanning. This tanning method was first used industrially around 1900 and replaced the vegetable tanning method which was widespread until then.

    Chrome belongs to the metals group and is found in the ground just like iron or other metals. The human body needs chromium III in small traces, which we absorb through yeast, potatoes, cheese, bread or fruit, for example. For leather tanning, exactly this chromium III is used to make animal skins durable. It is neither poisonous nor dangerous. However, in the media it is often equated with carcinogenic chromium VI, which is technically incorrect. Chromium VI can not tan leather and is prohibited in Germany and the EU.

    Chromium VI does not occur in terracare® leathers, because our tanners know how to prevent the formation of chromium VI. This knowledge has existed in our company for decades. In addition to the lack of awareness and know-how in various parts of the world, prevention is often also a question of cost.

    Unfortunately, chromium VI is not prohibited everywhere in the world. One more reason to pay attention to the origin when buying leather.

  • What is terracare®'s position on animal farming and slaughter?

    Animals have all along been kept by humans as livestock. For us, keeping farm animals is justifiable as long as the respectful treatment of living creatures is guaranteed and at a minimum is in compliance with German laws.

    The aim must be to keep animals in a manner appropriate to their species. Their slaughter must only be carried out under strict guidelines and in compliance with all legal regulations.

    Under this condition we accept slaughter for the production of meat. Out of respect for the slaughtered animal, everything should be utilized after slaughter, just as it has been done since time immemorial. One of the by-products after the meat is the skin, which serves as raw material for the tanner. As a principle we refuse slaughter without stupefaction and other forms of slaughter, that are unfortunately still very widespread throughout the world.

  • What are leather substitute products?

    For some years now, various products have been offered on the market which, although they bear the term "leather" in their name, have nothing in common with leather in technical terms, such as apple leather.

    Leather, by definition, is an animal hide that has been made durable by tanning. Leather substitute products are not based on this origin. The term vegan leather therefore tends to confuse the consumer, but is unfortunately still marketed under this name.

    Most leather substitutes are a combination of small amounts of plant fibres (apple, pineapple) and binders, which are applied to a carrier substrate or are combined with other fibres (cotton). The surface finish is usually implemented with polyurethane (plastic).

    Due to the technical possibilities, the option of using alternative materials to leather, e.g. in shoe manufacturing, has existed for a very long time. Relatively new is an undermixing of plant fibres in order to subsequently market the produced substrate as vegan or being particularly ecological.

    Leather substitutes are not ecologically better. In contrast to leather, only very small proportions of leather substitutes are based on renewable, natural raw materials. The durability of these -almost always mainly crude oil-based- leather substitutes is lower compared to genuine leather. The positive wearing properties, the value, the aesthetics and the ecological meaningfulness of leather is still inimitable.

Would you like to learn more about terracare® leather?

• Leder, wie es sein sollte

terracare® ist die führende Ingredient Brand für vorbildlich hergestelltes Leder. Das heißt: Wir setzen alles daran, ein erstklassiges und langlebiges Produkt herzustellen, das Mensch und Umwelt so wenig wie möglich beeinträchtigt.

Zu dieser sozialen und wie ökologischen Verantwortung stehen wir.

Handwerkskunst

aus Deutschland

terracare® Leder ist das Ergebnis gewachsener Handwerkskunst aus einem deutschen Familienunternehmen in vierter Generation. Über 130 Jahre Tradition und Erfahrung münden in Produkte, Prozesse und Maßnahmen von höchster Verlässlichkeit und ebensolcher Qualität. Diese Leistungsfähigkeit ist geprägt von einer engen und partnerschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit: sowohl unter unseren MitarbeiterInnen, als auch mit unseren Kunden.

Fasziniert von Leder

Wir sind fasziniert von Leder: sowohl von seinem urtümlichen und individuellen Charakter als auch seinen mannigfaltigen Möglichkeiten der Weiterverarbeitung. Diese Begeisterung für ein langlebiges Naturprodukt treibt uns an, diese Faszination wollen wir teilen und entfachen. Deshalb gehen wir immer wieder neue Wege, wenn es darum geht, hochwertiges Leder noch vorbildlicher herzustellen.

Leder mit Persönlichkeit

Wir leben Leder: Wir sind voll und ganz überzeugt von seinen einzigartigen Qualitäten. Möchten Sie mehr darüber erfahren, was in terracare® Leder steckt? Dann kontaktieren Sie uns bitte gerne. Wir freuen uns, von Ihnen zu hören oder zu lesen.

Thomas Heinen
Geschäftsführer

Häufig gestellte Fragen

  • Was bedeutet die Gerbung mit Chrom?

    In der Ledergerbung werden weltweit drei verschiedene Verfahren angewandt:

    a) Chromgerbung
    b) Synthetische Gerbung
    c) Vegetabile Gerbung

    Die mit ca. 85-90% am weitesten verbreitete Gerbmethode ist die Chromgerbung. Dieses Gerbverfahren wurde um 1900 erstmalig industriell eingesetzt und hat die bis dahin verbreitete Vegetabilgerbung verdrängt.

    Chrom gehört zur Gruppe der Metalle und kommt im Boden vor, so wie Eisen oder andere Metalle auch. Der menschliche Körper benötigt Chrom III in kleinen Spuren, welches wir beispielsweise durch Hefe, Kartoffeln, Käse, Brot oder Früchte aufnehmen. Für die Ledergerbung wird genau dieses Chrom III verwendet, um Tierhäute haltbar zu machen. Es ist weder giftig noch gefährlich. In der medialen Darstellung wird es jedoch häufig mit dem cancerogenen Chrom VI gleichgestellt, was fachlich falsch ist. Chrom VI kann nicht gerben und ist in Deutschland und der EU verboten.

    In terracare Ledern kommt kein Chrom VI vor, denn unsere Gerber wissen, die Entstehung von Chrom VI zu unterbinden. Dieses Wissen besteht bei uns im Unternehmen schon seit Jahrzehnten. Neben dem fehlenden Bewusstsein und mangelndem Know-How in verschiedenen Erdteilen ist die Vermeidung aber oft auch eine Kostenfrage. Leider ist Chrom VI nicht überall auf der Welt verboten. Ein Grund mehr, beim Ledereinkauf auf den Ursprung zu achten.

  • Wie steht terracare® zu Tierhaltung und Schlachtung?

    Tiere werden von Menschen seit jeher als Nutztiere gehalten. Die Nutztierhaltung ist für uns so lange vertretbar, wie der respektvolle Umgang mit Lebewesen gewährleistet ist, mindestens so, wie es in deutschen Gesetzen verankert ist. Ziel muss es sein, Tiere artgerecht zu halten. Ihre Schlachtung darf nur unter strengen Vorgaben und unter Einhaltung aller gesetzlichen Vorschriften umgesetzt werden.

    Unter dieser Voraussetzung akzeptieren wir die Schlachtung zur Gewinnung von Fleisch. Aus Respekt vor dem geschlachteten Tier sollte nach der Schlachtung alles verwertet werden, so wie es seit Urzeiten gemacht wird.

    Teil der anfallenden Nebenprodukte neben dem Fleisch ist die Haut, die dem Gerber als Rohstoff dient. Schächten und andere Schlachtformen, die leider weltweit immer noch sehr stark verbreitet sind, lehnen wir grundsätzlich ab.

  • Was sind Lederersatzprodukte?

    Seit einigen Jahren werden auf dem Markt verschiedene Produkte angeboten, die zwar den Begriff „Leder“ im Namen tragen, aber mit Leder fachlich nichts gemein haben, wie z.B. Apfelleder.

    Leder, per Definition, ist eine durch Gerbung haltbar gemachte tierische Haut. Lederersatzprodukte basieren nicht auf diesem Ursprung. Die Bezeichnung veganes Leder führt daher eher zu einer Verwirrung des Konsumenten, wird jedoch leider immer noch unter diesem Namen vermarktet.

    Bei den meisten Lederersatzprodukten handelt es sich um eine Verbindung von geringeren Anteilen Pflanzenfasern (Apfel, Ananas) und Bindemitteln, die auf einem Trägersubstrat aufgetragen werden oder mit anderen Fasern (Baumwolle) verbunden werden. Der Oberflächenabschluss wird meistens mit Polyurethan (Kunststoff) umgesetzt. Aufgrund der technischen Möglichkeiten besteht schon sehr lange die Option Alternativmaterialien zu Leder, z.B. bei der Schuhherstellung, einzusetzen. Relativ neu ist eine Untermischung von Pflanzenfasern, um das produzierte Substrat anschließend als vegan oder besonders ökologisch zu vermarkten.

    Ökologisch besser sind die Lederersatzstoffe nicht. Im Gegensatz zu Leder basieren nur sehr geringe Anteile der Lederersatzmaterialien auf nachwachsenden, natürlichen Rohstoffen. Die Haltbarkeit der fast immer im wesentlichen Rohöl-basierten Lederersatzstoffe ist geringer im Vergleich zu Leder. Die positiven Trageeigenschaften, die Wertigkeit, Schönheit und ökologische Sinnhaftigkeit von Leder sind bis heute nicht zu imitieren.

Sie möchten noch mehr über terracare®
Leder erfahren?